You may qualify for a mandatory deferral of a traffic citation by taking a Driving Safety Course which is approved by the Texas Education Agency.
To be eligible, you MUST:
Have a valid Texas driver’s license, permit; or a member, the spouse or dependant child of a member of the United States military forces serving on active duty.
Personal Liability Insurance
Have not completed a DSC course in the prior 12 months of receiving your citation for the purpose of ticket dismissal
Have not been cited for 25 mph or more over the speed limit
Defendants with a commercial drivers license are not eligible for Defensive Driving or Deferred Disposition.
Submit reply form within 12 days from the date of citation along with the following 4 items to the court.
Download and complete the reply form at the bottom of this page.
1. Proof of personal liability insurance
2. Signed reply form and notarized affidavit
3. Court cost amount of $109.10 in the form of a money order, cashier’s check or credit card (Master Card or VISA). If the offense occurred in a school zone, the court cost amount to include is $134.10. For unrestrained child violations, the fee (for Specialized DSC) is $109.10.
4. For an Application for Copy of Driver Record (TYPE 3A), click here or use the online service available at www.txdps.state.tx.us/
Within 90 days of being granted DSC, you will be required to have presented a certified copy of your driving record, a notarized affidavit to the court, your personal liability insurance and a signed certificate of completion for your case to be dismissed.
DO NOT COMPLETE THE COURSE UNTIL THE COURT HAS GRANTED YOU THE PERMISSION TO DO SO.
By law, you must send these documents to the court via certified mail.
Should you wish to receive a copy of the Defensive Driving Dismissal, you must enclose a self-addressed, stamped envelope or email address.